The Last of Us

The Last of Us is an upcoming survival horror / action game set in a post-apocalyptic United States. Twenty years ago, a mutated parasitic fungus infected and killed millions, essentially turning them into zombies. Most of remaining survivors live in quarantined areas under the harsh rule of US military. Joel (the playable character) escapes one of these areas, taking a 14-year-old Ellie (AI companion) with him as a favor to a dying friend. Outside the quarantine zone, they will face not only the Infected, but other Survivors as well. Furthermore, the military also seems intent on hunting Joel and Ellie down.

Continue reading


Fuse (formerly known as Overstrike) is an upcoming action / shooter title developed by Insomniac Games and published by Electronic Arts. The plot of the game is centered around the titular Fuse, a mysterious alien power source which has fallen into the hands of a terrorist organization. An elite team called Overstrike 9 is tasked with recovering it.

At its core, Fuse is a 4-player cooperative shooter with four diverse classes, each of which has its own Fuse-powered weapon. It is said to be a fast-paced game with over-the-top action, as is expected from Insomniac Games.

Continue reading

Crysis 3

Crysis 3 is an upcoming first-person shooter which takes place in a future New York City, an urban rainforest enclosed in an enormous Nanodome. The players take control of the Prophet who makes a return from the previous installments of the game. Wielding the series’ iconic nanosuit and a wide array of weapons, the protagonist has to fight through the seven distinct areas under the Liberty Dome in an attempt to save humanity from destruction.

Continue reading

Gears of War: Judgment

Gears of War: Judgment is the newest title in the Gears of War series, and a prequel to the original trilogy. The single-player campaign focuses on the Kilo Squad which is led by Baird and Cole. The unit is charged with treason, cowardice, and desertion, and it’s up to the player to exonerate Lt. Baird and his crew. In order to achieve this you will have to play through the events leading up to the trial, uncover the truth, and hopefully justify the actions of the Kilo Squad in the court-martial. The developers call this the “Mission Declassification” system.

The multiplayer aspect of Gears of War: Judgment seems promising as well. The most interesting addition is the new class-based OverRun mode which pits COG soldiers against the Locust. Also new to the series is Free-For-All, a fast-paced deathmatch mode where every player fights for himself.

Continue reading

BioShock Infinite

BioShock Infinite is an upcoming installment in the popular Bioshock video game series. Plot-wise, it is not directly related to its predecessors, but the game does retain similar gameplay mechanics and themes. Infinite begins in 1912, when the game’s protagonist – a detective named Booker DeWitt – is sent to a floating city of Columbia to rescue a young woman, Elizabeth, who is imprisoned there.

In addition to various weapons in the game, players can use Vigors and Nostrums to augment their character. Vigors are active powers that require charges to use. Nostrums are passive enhancements, similar to Gene Tonics in the previous BioShock games. Using either of these items has a permanent effect on your character, so you should think carefully before choosing a power, seeing how only a limited number of Vigors can be equipped.

Continue reading

Dead Space 3

Dead Space 3, the sequel to the popular survival horror series, takes Isaac Clarke to the snowy planet of Tau Volantis, which is believed to hold the key to ending the Necromorph infestation. The gaame can be played in single player or online co-op mode, with the second player controlling John Carver, a hardened soldier and Isaac’s reluctant partner.

Continue reading

God of War: Ascension

God of War: Ascension is a prequel to the popular GoW trilogy. It follows a younger Kratos on his quest to slay the three Furies and get revenge on Ares, who tricked him into murdering his own family. Besides the single-player story, God of War: Ascension also features multiplayer, a first in the franchise. It offers several different game modes and allows the players to create and customize a new warrior, and pick one of the four gods to align with. Incidentally, all preorder incentives for this games are related to multiplayer.

Continue reading

Page 20 of 37« First...1819202122...Last »