Samurai Warriors: Spirit of Sanada

Samurai Warriors: Spirit of Sanada Box Art

Samurai Warriors: Spirit of Sanada is a hack-and-slash game developed by Omega Force and published by Koei Tecmo. Set in Sengoku-era Japan, it follows the titular Sanada Clan in their meteoric rise from lowly vassals to powerful lords. The clan’s legend begins with patriarch Masayuki Sanada, a much-requested character who makes a debut in the series. The story then switches to fan-favorite Yukimura Sanada, following his journey from boyhood to becoming a legendary warrior.

Samurai Warriors: Spirit of Sanada features free roaming, and has a central hub where the players may interact with other characters, upgrade their gear, train, and prepare for future battles. As one progresses through the main story, these headquarters are moved to larger castle-towns with more facilities.

Continue reading

Starblood Arena VR

Starblood Arena VR Box Art

Starblood Arena is a PlayStation VR game where players pilot deadly spaceships in fast-paced arena combat. Each of the nine ships has its own loadout and playstyle, and further weapon and auxiliary modifications can be unlocked by progressing through the matches. The game offers single player Carnage deathmatches, Team Carnage deathmatches, and Invaders co-op modes, with PS Plus membership required for multiplayer.

Continue reading

The Binding of Isaac: Afterbirth

The Binding of Isaac: Afterbirth Box Art

The Binding of Isaac, a popular 2D action RPG with roguelike elements, is about to see a release on the upcoming Nintendo Switch platform. Made by independent developer Nicalis, the game has enjoyed great popularity on the PC, consoles, and handhelds so far.

The version that will be released on Switch, The Binding of Isaac: Afterbirth+, essentially includes all DLC expansions so far (Rebirth, Afterbirth and Afterbirth+) in one package. It will be available at retail and on the Nintendo eShop for $39.99. It is the physical version which interests us, as it comes with a number of bonuses.

Continue reading

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild Box Art

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild is Nintendo’s highly-anticipated action-adventure game which takes players back to Hyrule. The game begins with the series’ protagonist Link awakening from a long slumber by a mysterious voice that guides him to fight Calamity Ganon, who has been sealed in the Hyrule Castle for a century.

The upcoming title brings numerous changes from its predecessors, including a more open world, voice acting, an advanced physics engine, and, of course, HD graphics.

Continue reading

Portal Knights

Portal Knights Box Art
  • Genre
  • Platform
  • Release date
    May 23, 2017

Portal Knights is a cooperative sandbox RPG which mixes elements of block-building and role-playing games. Players pick a class, explore randomly-generated 3D sandbox worlds, mine and gather resources, craft weapons and gear, and participate in battles against the formidable Portal Guardians. The game supports up to four players in a co-op.

Portal Knights is developed by a German indie studio Keen Games, and published by 505 Games.

Continue reading

The Elder Scrolls Online: Morrowind

The Elder Scrolls Online: Morrowind Box Art

The latest expansion for The Elder Scrolls Online adds Vvardenfell: the main island of the Morrowind province, and the largest new zone yet. As the game is set 700 years before the single-player title The Elder Scrolls III, the expansion portrays the region at its prime.

With the addition of the Vvardenfell area, Morrowind also brings a new class, Warden, who possesses powerful nature magic and a War Bear companion. There is also a new 4v4v4 PvP arena format called Battlegrounds for fast-paced, competitive matches. Thanks to the One Tamriel system, Morrowind‘s content will be appropriately scaled to the player’s level.

New players can purchase the Standard Edition ($59.99), which includes both the Morrowind expansion and The Elder Scrolls Online: Tamriel Unlimited base game. A digital Upgrade Edition ($39.99) is available to existing players.

Continue reading

Atelier Firis: The Alchemist and the Mysterious Journey

Atelier Firis: The Alchemist and the Mysterious Journey Box Art

The latest installment in the long-running Atelier series takes place shortly after the events in Atelier Sophie. The game follows a 15-year-old girl named Firis, who lives in an isolated mining town and yearns to venture to the outside world. When the protagonist of the previous game, Sophie, visits the town, Firis jumps at the chance to become her apprentice. However, Firis must become a certified alchemist in just one year if her parents are to allow her to continue her travels.

The Synthesis system in Atelier Firis features a number of exciting new additions to suit its nomadic nature, says publisher Koei Tecmo. A portable Atelier Tent allows Firis to synthesize wherever she wants, whereas Mass Synthesis is capable of creating huge items such as bridges and boats to help navigate the game’s world. Effectiveness of items can be magnified through the use of special Catalysts.

Continue reading

Page 4 of 47« First...23456...Last »